Virginia Workforce Network

Who we Are

Chief Local Elected Officials Consortium

The Western Virginia Workforce Development Board (WDB) works in partnership with the a consortium of Chief Local Elected Officials (CLEOs) (or their designees) from eight local jurisdictions which include counties of Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, Franklin and Roanoke and the cities of Covington, Roanoke and Salem. The responsibility of the CLEOs is to appoint the members to the WDB. They work in partnership with the WDB to submit a comprehensive five-year workforce development plan to the Governor, oversee the local workforce development delivery system, appoint the Youth Council and certify Workforce centers.

  • Christopher P. Morrill, City Manager, City of Roanoke
  • Kevin S. Boggess, City Manager, City of Salem
  • Thomas C. Gates, County Administrator, Roanoke County
  • B. Clayton "Clay" Goodman, III, County Administrator, Craig County
  • Jon Lanford, Interim County Administrator, Alleghany County
  • Gary Larrowe, County Administrator, Botetourt County
  • Brent Robertson, County Administrator, Franklin County